Philadelphia Hit and Run Accident Injury Lawyer

car accident injuryA hit and run accident occurs when a driver causes or contributes to an automobile accident and then fails to stop and provide his/her identity afterwards. It is also known as leaving the scene of an accident. If you were seriously hurt in a hit and run accident you may be wondering what legal recourse you have. This article discusses both the civil and criminal aspects of hit and run accidents in Pennsylvania.

What if I’m Injured by a Hit and Run Driver in Pennsylvania?

If you were hurt in a hit and run accident may be able to sue the negligent driver for resulting damages if his/her identity is later uncovered. However, in many cases the drivers identity is never discovered or the driver fled the scene of the accident because he/she was uninsured.  So what then?
If the identity of the other driver is never uncovered, there are still several avenues in which you could may be able to recover compensation for your damages.

  • If you carry uninsured motorist (UM) coverage you can make a claim under through your automobile policy to cover medical bills, injuries and in some cases, property damage. Uninsured motorist coverage provides protection in the event another driver leaves the scene of the accident or if you are run off the road by a phantom vehicle. It not only provides coverage for the named insured, but also to the named insured’s immediate family members residing in the household.
  • If you not covered under through uninsured motorist automobile insurance, you may be able to recover compensation from the Pennsylvania Assigned Risk Plan for your medical bills and injuries. This plan has specific regulations that an applicant must meet to make a claim.

For a free consultation with experienced an car accident lawyer in Philadelphia call the Wieand Law Firm today at 1 (215) 666-7777.  We can help protect and advise you of your legal rights following a hit and run accident. The Wieand Law Firm is proud to serve clients throughout Pennsylvania and New Jersey.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident is a Crime

Pennsylvania law requires that anyone whose vehicle was involved in an automobile accident or caused harm to another person stop in a safe place to provide assistance and information to the affected party. When a driver fleas an accident scene he/she commits a crime that may result in serious criminal penalties.
In Pennsylvania, criminal penalties for hit and run accidents vary based on the severity of the incident. PA Code §75-3743 provides that collisions resulting in only property damage result a 3rd degree misdemeanor charge which carries a sentence maximum of one year in prison and fines of up to $2,500.
If an automobile accident results in injury or death of another person stiffer penalties may apply. A hit an run causing injury or death is a felony offense. A hit and run accident causing injury is considered a 3rd degree felony, carrying a mandatory minimum 90 day jail sentence and up to 7 years in prison, along with a minimum $1,000 fine. A hit an run accident resulting in the death of another carries a mandatory minimum of 1 year in prison, with a maximum of 7 years. It also requires a minimum fine of $2,500. See PA Code §75-3742

Car Accident Injury Law Firm

The Wieand Law Firm has years of experience representing people who were seriously injury or killed in car accidents. We work tirelessly to make sure our clients are fully compensated for their pain and suffering, medical bills, lost wages and other damages For a free case consultation call us today at 1 (215) 666-7777.

Disclaimer:  This website is provided for informational purposes only and does not offer or constitute legal advice. 

Schedule free consultation
Get Started Today!