New Jersey Nursing Home Neglect Laws
New Jersey limits awards of punitive damages of $350,000 or five times the amount of compensatory damages.
Public entities are generally immune from liability; however, they can be found liable for injuries caused by employees in the course and scope of their employment.
Statute of Limitations
In general, the New Jersey statute of limitations on negligence claims for personal injury and wrongful death is two years.
Contingent Fee Agreements
In New Jersey, an attorney’s contingent fees for actions stemming from tortious conduct generally cannot exceed the following limits:
33 1/3% on the first $750,000 recovered;
30% on the next $750,000 recovered;
25% on the next 750,000 recovered;
20% on the next $750,000;
Amounts recovered in excess of the above require application to the court for reasonable fee
Contingent fee agreements made for the benefit of a minor or mentally incapacitated person are subject to the above limits, except that settlements amounts made before trial cannot exceed 25%.
You can read more about New Jersey nursing home abuse law and your rights here.
Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only. It is not legal advice and should not be used as legal advice. The legal statutes, laws and procedures contained in this article may not be current and may have been revised since the time of publication or contain errors. An attorney can provide legal guidance only after reviewing the details of your individual case.