When it comes to receiving a traffic ticket, the consequences might be severe. Not only will you receive an increase in insurance cost, points to your license, and fines, but your license could even be suspended. In some cases you might even lose your drivers license entirely via revocation.
It is always important to have a traffic ticket attorney on your side when fighting a charge. If you are racing on the highway in New Jersey, for example, you can be charged $25-$200. If you are unsafe lane changing you may be fined $50-$200. If you pass someone incorrectly, you can be fined $50-$200. Finally, if you do not observe a traffic signal you will be charged $50-$200. If you think you are charged wrongly, you need to reach out to a traffic ticket attorney, such as the ones available at Rispoli and Borneo PC.
If you are observed to be carelessly driving then you may receive a fine of $50-$200. Should the police catch you tailgating or driving recklessly, you will be charged $50-$500 depending upon the severity and the road conditions while you were driving. If you are caught speeding you will be charged $85-$260. Improper passing of a school bus starts out at a hefty $100-$250. If you are caught driving while suspended you will be charged $500 flat out. If you are caught driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated you will be charged up to $1,000. If you’ve left the scene of an accident you can be charged up to $15,000.
If you are challenging a traffic ticket you may have to pay court costs. Finding out how much you will have to pay is something your traffic ticket attorney can do for you.
New Jersey is a state that does not remove traffic offenses from your driving record which means that your insurance rates are going to rise for life. Here are some of the average auto insurance increases in New Jersey per violation.
- Careless driving average net of 21% increase.
- DWI or DUI averages a 132% increase in New Jersey.
- tailgating average is a 29% increase.
- Improper turning average is a 19% increase.
- Racing on the highway average is a 43% increase.
- Reckless driving averages 61% increase
- Speeding 1 to 15 mph higher than the speed limit averages 17% increase
- Speeding 16 to 29 mph higher than the speed limit averages a 26% increase
- Speeding 30+ miles over the speed limit averages a 32% increase
- Texting while driving averages at 22% increase
These are just averages, and it will depend on a case-by-case basis about how high your insurance rates will increase if you are breaking the law. Everything will vary from state to state.
New Jersey also requires drivers I have six points on the drivers license over three years to pay a surcharge, which is an additional fee on top of the fine for any of the associated traffic violations. This means that there is a 150+25 reach point over six points on your license for that violation. Many other states have this policy as well, which is why you may want to hire a lawyer to help fight any tickets you get on the road. Reach out to an experienced traffic attorney today to learn how he or she can help you.